Safeguarding

Caring for those in our care

The Safeguarding Office

The Diocesan Safeguarding Office supports the ministry of the Church by providing a professional and robust support around the protection of children, young people and adults at risk, to ensure that worshipping communities are safe places where all have a positive experience of the Church in which they feel loved, accepted and safe.

The Safeguarding Office and its staff treat all individuals with dignity and respect, and all issues dealt with are managed in a sensitive and caring manner.  All contact with the Safeguarding Office is dealt with in the strictest confidence.

The Diocese’s dedicated team of safeguarding professionals work closely with other agencies both locally and nationally including the Police, Probation, Social Services, and to standards that are set out by the Catholic Safeguarding Standards Agency.

The Catholic Safeguarding Standards Agency (CSSA) has been established to advise and audit the work of the Catholic Church in England and Wales as it develops the highest calibre regime of safeguarding.  To see the Safeguarding Policies for all dioceses in England and Wales, please click here.

Contact details

Safeguarding Office
St Boniface House
Ashburton
Newton Abbot
TQ13 7JL

General Enquiry Number: 01364 645430
E-mail: safeguarding@prcdtr.org.uk

The Office is open Monday – Friday, 9am to 5pm

 

Safeguarding Team Members

Safeguarding Coordinator
Robert Brown
robert.brown@prcdtr.org.uk
01364 645431

Safeguarding Caseworker – Parish and Administration
Annette Moody-Burkinshaw
annette.moody-burkinshaw@prcdtr.org.uk
01364 645432

Safeguarding Caseworker – Training delivery and development
Robert Kingdon
robert.kingdon@prcdtr.org.uk
01364 645434

Safeguarding Caseworker – Victim/survivor support and communications
Sophie Scagell
sophie.scagell@prcdtr.org.uk
01364 645436

Safeguarding Administrator
Hannah Seagood
hannah.seagood@prcdtr.org.uk
01364 645433

Safeguarding Administrator
Nick Biddle
nick.biddle@prcdtr.org.uk
01364 645435

Clergy Lead for Safeguarding
Fr. Mark Skelton V.F.
mark.skelton@prcdtr.org.uk
01626 774640