Diocesan Trustees

Working to ensure good governance


Diocesan Trustees


In civil law, the Diocese is registered as a charitable trust with the Charity Commission – Plymouth Diocesan Trust, registration number 213227. The Trust was established in 1931. The assets of the Diocese are held subject to that Deed, the Diocese is registered as one single charity.


The Board of Trustees consists of the Bishop, senior clergy and suitably qualified and experienced lay faithful of the Diocese. Together they meet up to 6 times in a year, and they are responsible for the governance of the charitable trust. By law, the assets of the Charity (i.e. buildings, cash, investments, IT and intellectual property) are vested in the Trustees.


The role of the trustee is vital to the success and continuing growth of the Diocese. The contribution made by each individual trustee ensures that the mission of the Church is achieved and that the charitable objectives of the Trust are met in terms of people and property, and are in compliance with Civil and Canon Law.

Trustee Board Members
Canon Paul Cummins – Diocesan Administrator and Chair
Canon John Deeny
Canon Mark O’Keefe
Canon Kristian Paver
Fr Kieran Kirby
Fr Jonathan Bielawski
Mr Derek Butler
Sir Neil Butterfield
Mr Declan Keogh
Mrs Caroline Theyer
Mr Joseph Acton
Mr Brian Bargent

Chief Operating Officer and Secretary to the Trustees
Anthony Akinpelu
01364 645360